Why a CV Will Never Portray Who You Really Are

We are more than our qualifications

Ana Esteves
4 min readMay 4, 2021
Photo by CoWomen on Unsplash

As a student at the final leg of her master’s degree (a.k.a. dissertation station) and with no relevant job experience, I find myself at a crossroads: How on Earth am I going to get a job? This made me reflect on what people think of me when they see my CV. What is going through all of those recruiters’ heads when a random Ana appears on their candidate list?

Well, unfortunately, your guess is as good as mine! However, there is one thing that is certain: that one-page document will never be an accurate portrayal of me. Why? That is a question that begs a little more thought.

A CV, or curriculum vitae (“course of life”), is a short summary of one’s qualifications and career path. It includes the person’s schooling, past jobs, and other sorts of work experience, personal information (such as contacts and location), specific certifications (usually related to software usage and languages), among other “relevant” information regarding one’s professional skills.

To a certain extent, a CV is your professional ID.

Now, if like me you’re still a student who hasn’t had the opportunity to go through internships or other sorts of work experience, what do our CVs say about us? That we…

--

--

Ana Esteves

Passionate reader and writer with a profound interest in history and literature. B.A. in Languages, Literature and Culture; current M.A. Communication student.